Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Lets Build a MONSTER TRUCK engine....

Old 12-25-2008, 03:36 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lets Build a MONSTER TRUCK engine....

Well, I wont go into details but I work in the monster truck industry. If I dont get a ride soon, I am going to build my own truck... Im only going to be young for so long lol.

Well, I am going about things very differently with this truck... one of the things I would like to avoid is the BBC/Roots/Mechanical fuel injection that we run. I think is ridiculous with today's technology. We are only trying to make 1500 crank HP but our redundant rules, keep up in the stone age when it comes to power adders and the engines we have running these days are basically ticking time bombs because of the 10% blower OD rule, and the fact that we can only run roots blowers.

Im setting out to turn some heads here and show what can be done with modern technology. I would like input on if this is feasible, practical/reliable, and if It could be done within a reasonable budget... more emphasis on the first two as I that it takes money to make HP, but if you're not nuking an engine every year then it works out cheaper in the long run anyways.

Here are the requirements for the engine I want to build:
-1200FWH/1200FWTQ(more TQ the better!)
-Broad power range
-Methanol(or possibly e85, I think a "pump gas" monster would be funny)
-LSX based...(if it could be done with an aluminum block I would be stoked)
-No intercooler or small Air/Air, Not opposed to spraying meth to cool charge.
-Turbo, ZERO lag or as close to Zero as I could get. Not opposed to DBB Twins or any other exotic combination.

We run Alternators, Hydraulic steering pumps, and I would run an electric water pump... Would also run a mechanical fuel pump more than likely.