12 Second Club In the 12s yet? Come inside!

Englishtown first run

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2006, 11:52 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Englishtown first run

hello this is my first time ever launching my car at the track. Actually i never practiced launching the car i have only raced with it on the highway. Need to say i really need to learn how to launch the car because thats whats killing me really bad. I think with the mods i have on my car i should easily be in the high 12s. Basically my first run i lined up and when i saw the lights i basically just dropped the clutch and took my foot barley onto the gas. So the car fell flat on its face real hard. then shifted to second and spun all of 2nd gear but held on. beleive it or not that was my FASTEST run hahaha with a 13.7 @ 105 with 2.3 60 foot time! Then each run got worse and worse as i botched the launch again. 2nd run was a 13.9 @ 105 with 2.5 60 foot time. Then finally was a 14.3 @ 105 with a 2.8 60 foot!!! seriously the car almost stalled cause i was trying to just get on the gas as fast as i could but the rpms wernt high so it dropped to like 200-300 and my head bounced hahahahahahha...... well it was still fun just need to practice my launch for october some tips would be appreciated... thanks
Old 09-14-2006, 02:01 AM
TECH Enthusiast

I don't mean to be negative or bash you, but I think hitting the 12's with your set-up on street tires is real optomistic. You will definately need some sticky tires and even then I'm not too sure you'll hit your mark unless your driving is dead on in good air.
Old 09-15-2006, 12:57 PM
12 Second Club