lt4 hot cam kit vs just the lt4 hot cam

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 03:09 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lt4 hot cam kit vs just the lt4 hot cam

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/NAL-24502586 lt4 hot cam

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/NAL-12480002 lt4 hot cam kit

Has anybody ever used just the cam and is there a big difference in the kits cam vs just the lt4 hot cam?
yes i am a newbie so be easy on me lol
Old 08-25-2010, 03:29 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

With any aftermarket cam, you should upgrade your valvetrain as well. If you just threw that cam in, it probably won't run like it should, and you risk snapping a spring or doing something else that will ultimately end in harm to your motor.

For any cam swap you'll be spending a fortune in parts anyway (gaskets, tune, etc). So, do it right the first time. Also, the hot cam is a proven choice, there's so much more out there to choose from.

Have you looked at this sticky? https://ls1tech.com/forums/lt1-lt4-m...ion-guide.html
Old 08-25-2010, 03:33 PM
TECH Enthusiast

don't waste your money on the kit. I know alot of people running the hotcam and make some decent numbers. You're gonna want to sit down and think about what you want out of car. If you ultimately wanna go with the hotcam then that's your choice but you're most definitely going to want to upgrade your valvetrain, springs, maybe lifters, pushrods, rocker arms.

Trust me when I tell you, I learned the hard way how expensive it can be. Like the guy before said, do it right the first time.
Old 08-25-2010, 03:33 PM
TECH Enthusiast

when you upgrade to the lt4 hotcam, you need to upgrade your valve springs, especially when you go to the 1.6 rocker arms...the stock valve springs are too weak for the hotcam..
the hotcam kit is hard to beat for the money.. its a solid performing setup...