Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2000 Trans Am leaking oil

Old 08-12-2012, 04:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Trans Am leaking oil

Hello, I am new to the LS1 Tech, I've been browsing anonymously through the threads about oil leaks and I thought I came to the conclusion that it was my rear main seal. I've attached a picture which leads be to believe the oil leak is coming from above, maybe valve cover leaking, also my car does not leak when its not running. Only leaks when engine is on, if it was a rear main seal would it not leak all the time? Also it will leave about a cup of oil on the ground after running it so its sorta severe. I am having a hard time attaching other photos but I have one of the driver side rear of the engine that looks like the one pictured. I have pictures of the "OPSU" and its dry. I'll try to get more pictures. Leak come from between engine and transmission.

Also wanted to comment how great of a site this is.
Attached Thumbnails 2000 Trans Am leaking oil-2012-05-31_18-17-45_798.jpg  
Old 08-12-2012, 08:26 PM
On The Tree

I have seen some leaking from the rear cover gasket area. Or mine just threw me for a loop. It looked like a rear main but ended up being a crack in the block around the oil galley just above the oil filter.
Old 08-13-2012, 01:19 AM
TECH Fanatic

im about to have my rear main swapped, mine only leaks when the car is off that i know of. but mine leaks about 1/2 qt a oil change sometimes more sometimes less.
Old 08-13-2012, 04:31 AM
Teching In

From that pic it looks like it's leaking from the valve cover.
Old 08-13-2012, 01:55 PM