Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reverse cooled vs. standard flow water pumps on LS1's

Old 07-28-2003, 08:27 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Reverse cooled vs. standard flow water pumps on LS1's

I know the reverse pumps work well on LT1's, but with our engine design, will a reverse flow pump be that much better than a pump like the Meziere on our cars?

I have mixed feelings on this one and was wondering how everyone else feels.

I'm stuck between buying the Meziere and waiting for the JPR.
Old 07-28-2003, 08:35 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Reverse cooled vs. standard flow water pumps on LS1's

I would think that reverse cooling would be better on any motor. To have the heads cooled 1st is a good thing no? I'm no expert but I would think reverse cooling would be the way to go.
Old 07-28-2003, 09:53 PM
TECH Addict

I tend to agree with StevieZ, although I'm not sure how much cooling the block needs due to it being aluminum. Does it need cooler water first?
Old 07-29-2003, 11:13 AM
On The Tree

They do it for emissions. Reverse cooling cools the heads off too much and allows for greater HC hangup and hence greater hydrocarbon emissions. The hotter the engine runs typically the less HC and CO emissions. Can't say the same for NOx though.
Old 07-29-2003, 01:44 PM
Teching In