Fueling & Injection Fuel Pumps | Injectors | Rails | Regulators | Tanks

Quick Disconnect fuel line

Old 11-23-2003, 03:35 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Quick Disconnect fuel line

Hello, I have a 98' Z28 LS1 and I am looking for some advice on how to disconnect the quick-disconnect fuel line that feeds the fuel rail. I went and got the right tool to do the job but for some reason it won't snap appart. I am taking the engine out b/c I had a problem with the stock oil pump and spun a bearing. If you have any info on this or on spun bearings please let me know. It's my first time doing something this in depth. Thanks, Mike
Old 11-23-2003, 03:59 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by taciam
Hello, I have a 98' Z28 LS1 and I am looking for some advice on how to disconnect the quick-disconnect fuel line that feeds the fuel rail. I went and got the right tool to do the job but for some reason it won't snap appart. I am taking the engine out b/c I had a problem with the stock oil pump and spun a bearing. If you have any info on this or on spun bearings please let me know. It's my first time doing something this in depth. Thanks, Mike
as far as the fuel line goes slip the tool between line and retaining sleeve, you should hear an audible click, then push them together before trying to pull them apart. use a rag under the lines so you dont spill gas on everything. Last make sure you disconect the battery before the entire procedure so you dont accidentally prim the fuel system. Hope that helps
Old 11-23-2003, 04:13 PM
Teching In

Default Fuel line

Heard the click, pushed together, then tried to pull apart but it won't disconnect.
Old 11-23-2003, 04:17 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by taciam
Heard the click, pushed together, then tried to pull apart but it won't disconnect.