Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dipstick seal leak fix

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2008, 01:26 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dipstick seal leak fix

Well my car has been down for a week, I was putting in headers, ls6 intake, and a newer stocker kmember with new motor mount's. While I was doing this my buddy noticed that my transmission oil dipstick had two seal's and told me it would leak, and I had forgotten to put the bolt that holds it in place. I had been running it like that for a few months with some track passes with no problems. So I get it started and take it to the exhaust shop to work on the y pipe and when I start it I notice that there was a puddle of trans fluid that my car leaked, and traced it back to the dipstick so the guy at the exhaust shop cut the extra seal, but it would still leak. I brought it home and my buddy got the bolt in thinking it might be that, and still same leak, so I put some rtv gasket maker and it would still leak. It's dripping a drop exactly every 2 seconds, I left the dipstick out overnight and woke up to a garge with trans fluid on the floor.

Wanted to know if there is a way I get the seal changed out without having to drop the transmission?
Old 03-17-2008, 02:03 AM
Staging Lane

The seal should just press in from the top of the transmission. How did you manage to get 2 on there?? There about a inch long. If you have 2 on there you have over filled your trans and thats why it is leaking out of there.
Old 03-17-2008, 02:47 AM
TECH Apprentice

This is my thrid transmission and I think the transmission that's on there had the seal on it and the dipstick I put in also had a seal on it, which made for two. I let my buddy put in the dipstick on this last trans install, and he say's that's what he thinks happened.