Advanced Engineering Tech For the more hardcore LS1TECH residents

Converting An Ls7 To 6 Litres With A 96.9mm Bore

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2007, 07:33 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Converting An Ls7 To 6 Litres With A 96.9mm Bore

Ok I’m not an expert on the LS series of engines so I thought I’d post my idea here – I’m looking at creating a 6.0 Litre version of the LS7 engine, using the standard LS7 crank throw of 101.6mm……..therefore I will need to remove the standard press-in liners and reduce the bore size from 104.8 standard to 96.9mm therefore giving 6.0 litres in long stroke format……do the LS7 liners come out easily?…..

please dont reply to this post with other ideas about short stroke cranks, nitrous, turbos, blowers etc.....I’m not interested in any of that as this will be a normally aspirated race motor running air restrictors.

The only problems I can foresee are the LS cylinder heads and principally the valves fitting inside the bore size I require of 96.9mm – I have worked out I need 51mm inlet valves, with 43mm exhaust valves - or there abouts – so that will all be snug fit in a 96.9mm bore – I know I might need to come down on those valve sizes slightly, but that’s the ball park I’m heading in.

What I’m interested to know from you guys is based on your knowledge of all the variants of LS type cylinder heads, aftermarket too – do you think its possible to accommodate a 96.9mm bore with those sorts of valve sizes – or is it totally out of the question????......