Advanced Engineering Tech For the more hardcore LS1TECH residents

The LS1 & E85

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2007, 07:22 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question The LS1 & E85

I'll apologize up front for a long question...I'm pretty new to the LS1 scene. I've got a '99 Camaro SS. I've ported the heads and decked them .030...installed a bigger cam...long tube headers...3" exhaust...etc. I sent my PCM away to Fastchip to have it optimized for the mechanical changes I made. It runs great, but now I'd like to convert the car to run on E85.

I've read some of the previous threads on this topic, and they've been really informative (especially an old post by Runn...lots of great info). I have some concerns, though.
I'm fairly ignorant when it comes to PCM programming (That's why I sent mine away the first time). Can a bonehead like me make the necessary changes without screwing something up?

Also, I don't have a programmer. Are there any suggestions as to what a good choice might be? I've heard HP Tuners' VCM suite is nice...as well as LS1 Edit...any recommendations? Also, will I have problems using a tuner on a PCM that Fastchips has already worked on?...would they lock the code?

Any additional information would be appreciated

Thanks!
Old 09-27-2007, 07:27 PM
TECH Resident

You should'nt have trouble working on a previously tuned PCM. You might try posting in the tuning section to get a more specific reply to your tuning questions.

Just wondering, why do you want to run E-85?
Old 09-27-2007, 09:14 PM
Teching In

Just wondering, why do you want to run E-85?[/QUOTE]

Mainly to be as environmentally friendly as I can. There's no real cost savings at this point in time. E85 costs a little less than gasoline, but I'll need to use more of it to run the car.

I like driving fast...but I also want to do my part not to poop in the swimming pool
Old 09-28-2007, 12:11 AM
Staging Lane