Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

buffer/polisher

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2009, 11:09 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default buffer/polisher

Ok im looking at getting a buffer what is a good kind to get and what about the pads im a noob when it comes to this stuff so the more detail and opinions you got the better. Also what stuff do you use to buff it and polish it.
Old 03-17-2009, 11:32 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm in the same boat as you. I have seen nothing but great results on here with the PC 7424 using SIP. I'm interested in only removing some swirl marks and light scratches in mine and then finish it off with the Zaino line I have. I'm sure many more will chime in and say nothing but good things about the Porter Cable.
Old 03-18-2009, 12:42 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Call Steve @ Tropicare (www.tropi-care.com), he was very helpful and I placed my order for a 7424 kit and their "dark" wax this afternoon.
Old 03-18-2009, 08:42 AM
TECH Addict

For a beginner, the two best choices are the Porter Cable 7424 or the Flex 3401. My preference in pads is Lake Country 6.5".

With common sense and little practice, either should be a safe way to polish your vehicle. There's lots of reading on places like www.autopia.org to help out.
Old 03-18-2009, 08:56 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by ZaneO
For a beginner, the two best choices are the Porter Cable 7424 or the Flex 3401. My preference in pads is Lake Country 6.5".

With common sense and little practice, either should be a safe way to polish your vehicle. There's lots of reading on places like www.autopia.org to help out.

+1. I went the Flex route. It is more expensive but has more power and will correct imperfections much faster. I am pairing the buffer with Menzerna SIP and 106FA.

Autopia will definately get you pointed in the right direction.
Old 03-18-2009, 09:25 AM
TECH Fanatic

What type of polishing creams and stuff are good to use?
Old 03-18-2009, 11:07 AM