Sponsored by: DashLynx

Project : Slowest progressing build thread in history

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2012, 11:41 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Project : Slowest progressing build thread in history

Whats up guys!

First off, this is my first build thread. I am currently finishing up my tour in Afghanistan and will be returning home in a little over two months. About a month and a half ago, I purchased my third fbody. The car is a '99 Pewter Trans Am. A4 car, 68,000 miles. This is my second ls1 fbody, my first being a gorgeous pewter '99 SS that I have kicked myself since the day I sold it.

I have grown up at the drag strip, and with my previous toys this has always been my main focus. While my 1/4 mile time is still very important to me, I have recently become very interested in autox/road racing. I am stationed in Washington State and within 20 minutes from me is a site that holds SCCA autox monthly, as well as a nice road course at Pacific Raceways.

My goal for the car, as of now, is to be mid 12's in the 1/4, while being a quick autox/road race car as well. I do not plan on being competitive in either of the latter arenas, and will be just running in noncomp classes. The car will be my daily driver as well as my toy.

I have big plans for the car for the coming months of my arrival. I have already ordered the majority of the parts to get me started, and am about out of money. That being said, here is a list of things I have already ordered, as well as the things I still have left to pick up.

TSP 1 3/4" Stainless headers
TSP catted Y pipe
SLP LM1 catback
6LE 3.5" corsa clones
SLP lid/K&N filter
LS6 intake (still looking in the classifieds for one at a reasonable price)
P/P TB (trying to find who to purchase this from. SilverGhost did the TB on my '99 SS, but I have tried getting in contact with him to no avail)
Koni 4/4 sport shocks
Strano Springs
UMI dbl. adj. LCA w/roto joints
UMI LCA relo brackets
Strano hollow sways