Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Swirl marks un-removable?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2016, 02:29 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Swirl marks un-removable?

I have a black car and I can't seem to remove the swirl marks using a dewalt rotary buffer. I am new to buffing, my buddy swears I should be able to get them out.

I have done 7 passes now... Same area. I am buffing at 1000 rpm and moving fairly quickly over the panel. I tried slowing down moving over the panel and applying pressure and none seem to get the swirls out. I buff until the compound almost looks dry and then stop, wipe off, rinse and repeat.

Any advice?

Should I just pay someone to paint correct? I have spent around $100 on new pads, backing plate and compound already. I have used about an 1/8 of a bottle already. Perhaps the paint is just too far gone? Should I try upping the speed?

Here is a quick video.

Old 09-14-2016, 02:48 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Not sure how others do it, but i usually buff at a higher speed, around 3k rpm. I'm used to the 3m three step products we use at our shop. Agressive, fine, then polish. Black cars were my nemesis.
Old 09-14-2016, 03:29 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 63 Likes on 51 Posts

your new to it and using a rotary . Their is quite the learning curve with those. Get a porter cable 7424xp or flex 3401 and some meguirs 105 and meguirs 205 . You will want an orange pad for the 105 and use a white pad for the 205 .

You may be doing more damage with the rotary .
Old 09-14-2016, 03:56 PM
On The Tree

Well, the scratches currently in the car ARE getting removed. It's just not removing all of them. I just had my buddy come over who lent me his rotary and he showed me some techniques that seemed to help. So I will give that a shot first prior to buying something else.

He also came over with some more abrasive compound and that worked miracles on the bigger scratches.