Sponsored by: DashLynx

Need some detailing help .... please

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2004, 09:30 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some detailing help .... please

Hey Guys,

I am a real novice when it comes to detailing but really want to restore the finish on my 2001 SS to near perfect conditions again. It is NB Metallic and I keep it stored in my Garage almost always, so the paint is still shiny but it has a fair amount of swirl marks and a few light scratches. What is the best procedure for me to get the finish looking like smooth glass again without spending over $50-$70. I have an orbital buffer but do not mind spending a day doing everything by hand. Do I clay the car and then do a one or two step waxing of some sort ?? Also what is the absolute best product to use within that price range ? I know Zano used to be the best but I'm open to any recommendations.

TIA,
Mitch
Old 07-13-2004, 09:51 AM
TECH Addict

Wow, that's a loaded question, and you are going to get lots of different answers.

That budget isn't going to get you too much, because you need supplies to maintain your finish after you fix it. Don't expect a perfect finish with that budget, either.

Something cheap, locally available, and "hand-friendly" is Meguiar's ScracthX and 3M SMR 39009. These will work decently by hand or with your buffer. As for wax/sealants...I would order something to give a better selection of products. I really like Wolfgang Pre-Wax & Deep Gloss Paint Sealant ( www.autogeek.net ). Another good possibility would be Klasse AIO & S100 Carnauba ( available at your local Harley store ). Tons of options - do some research if you want ( www.autopia.org ).

You need some nice towels and mitts, too. I use Pak Shak towels with GREAT success ( www.pakshak.com ). I suggest a Waffle Weave drying towel, an Ultra-Fine towel, and a handful of Ultra towels. Find a nice cotton or sheepskin mitt.

A good procedure would be:
Wash
Clay
Wash
ScratchX or 3M 39009