Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Claybar guru's in here please...

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2006, 09:46 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Claybar guru's in here please...

Strangely enough, a search on claybar didn't give me much info, so humor me guys. I washed my truck over the weekend and noticed what looks like overspray ALL over my truck....not visable unless you're looking for it, but I CAN SEE IT!! Where I work, I'm forced to park next to a construction site, and I'm pretty sure that's where I picked it up. Regardless, I'm ASSUMING I should be looking into claybarring the truck. I've NEVER done this before and I'm looking for advice. The truck is listed in my sig, it's a sharp black with grey on bottom (sorry guys, it's a Ford). I've always taken steps to preserve my paint by a wax every two months, wash regularly....just never ventured into the claybar. So any tips on how to use it would be appreciated. Also, where do I even get this stuff? Thanks guys!
Ken
Old 02-08-2006, 10:00 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Wash your mammoth of a truck with non carnuba soap and dry. The mothers kit comes with claybar, spraywax aka quick detailer. What you do is spray one area of your truck..so start on the door spray the whole door with the spraywax then take your claybar and go in one motion either vertical or horzontal. if they area your going over dries up then just spray some more. once you see your bar getting dirty use other side..once that side gets dirty fold the bar in half and smoosh it flat now thats its flat its a little easier to use and will mold too your hand. thats pretty much it. Once your done get a terry cloth and any spray thats left over and just mist your truck and wipe to a really deep shine. it comes out smooth, you wouldnt believe how much crap there is in the air that attached to the paint.
Old 02-08-2006, 01:36 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Wash the truck