Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications

CETA bumper...what paint to use? and home or shop job?

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2006, 02:45 AM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CETA bumper...what paint to use? and home or shop job?

sorry i know this post can get old but i need help. I have a red ws6. i want the CETA bumper look, based on other threads w/ pics i think im going to go with either the semi-gloss or gloss look. my questions are:

1) what type of paint would i get for the semi-gloss or gloss>
2) i have no experience with painting, and i want the car to look clean as hell and not like a drunk 20 yr old did it . So you think i should take it to a shop?
3) if i did take it to a paint/body shop how much u think they would charge?

thanks yall
Old 09-09-2006, 05:08 AM
TECH Fanatic

just use a dupont glossy black rattle can, will turn out just fine, if you really want to dive into it though i would take off the bumper, go to an automotive paint shop and get a 1/2 pint and some clear coat, wetsand the bumper, mask off the areas not sprayed, spray the bumper, wetsand then clear it. Finish up with some wetsanding to polish the clear and you are done. Body shops charge anywhere from 150 to 300 usually, pricy for something you can do yourself for the cost of a couple rattle cans.
Old 09-09-2006, 11:31 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by transambandit
just use a dupont glossy black rattle can, will turn out just fine, if you really want to dive into it though i would take off the bumper, go to an automotive paint shop and get a 1/2 pint and some clear coat, wetsand the bumper, mask off the areas not sprayed, spray the bumper, wetsand then clear it. Finish up with some wetsanding to polish the clear and you are done. Body shops charge anywhere from 150 to 300 usually, pricy for something you can do yourself for the cost of a couple rattle cans.