Sponsored by:

Should I go TH400?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2011, 07:31 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I go TH400?

Hey guys, first off here's my mods

Boltons, 150wet shot, circle d 4c, "built" 4l60e by (local) shop, lots of UMI suspension, wide and skinnies. Just to make it quick.

Anyways, I've been fighting this nightmarish transmission for the 3 1/2 yrs I've owned the car. This is my "6th" 4l60e going straight down the ******* once again. Had warranty work after warranty work done, by 2 different shops. Promising that I'll never have any problem again. Yea right.

Problems I'm having now are these,

- lockup in overdrive shutters moderately when trying to accelerate on the freeway

- low speed, low throttle, and a shift so hard it like I hit a boulder that impacted underneath the center console, sometimes it's multiple hits in a row like that. Then usually clutches slip afterwards.

- all these problems have been intermittent I guess for the most part

- yesterday tha 3-4 clutches began failing completely

- built trans might have 500miles tops

Parts that I can recall in this transmission.

- raybestos Zpak
- beast cage sunshell
- billet planetarys
- billet input and output
- trans go hd-2 shift kit
- new front pump
- ( a piece that looked like a "washer" to me, had 4 notches ground into it for a fluid passage reason?)
- I got a 32k cooler on it lol! With temp gauge( never been over ~170degrees ever.
- sure theres alot more I'm forgetting that's replaced with a simple rebuild.

So anyways what's the deal with this problem prone transmission? Why am I having these problems again and again? Would a sponsor 4l60e solve everything for me?

Everyone I know fbody wise is screaming for me to th400 this car and never look back. But I'm not sure if this is the greatest idea, but I know damn sure it WILL work.

Especially to hold to my 7.1x 1/8mile passes and 1.53 60' launching off the line on spray.