Sponsored by:

TH-400 guys please come on (LSX 441ci &TH-400 ) Info

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2013, 01:41 AM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default TH-400 guys please come on (LSX 441ci &TH-400 ) Info

Hi everyone
Iam currently working on my build (f2 charged 441lsx) and i felt it was time to get an auto tranny. My tranny is currently being built at Jakes performance. I have a few questions since this is my first time iam going to own a built 400 tranny. The transmission is going to be fully built and it will have a manual reverse pattern valve body with a ratchet shifter. Also it will have the neutral after 3rd soo the pattern will be P R 1 2 3 N.
-if its possible can some guys who owns a similiar setup pic their interior i would like to see how the shifter should be mounted and how it looks.

-and when dynoing it after the run i put it into neutral or just let of the gas and then when rpms come down go to 2nd then 1st.

-also i was told i can use R as neutral also by engaging the trans brake, but to do that the car has to be at rest? Or can while driving in 1st or 2nd put it into R with trans brake?

Sorry guys if some questions are stupid and answer is obvious i just want to make sure i dont miss out anything. Any tips and help is greatly appreciated

Thanks
Old 08-26-2013, 06:06 PM
12 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

1. Alot of people reuse the 6 speed console to put the shifter through. There are tons of pics of this if you search.
2. Do not throw the trans in nuetral after a WOT 3rd gear run. Just take a look at the last tip on the page of one of the most respected auto builders in the united states:
http://www.rosslertrans.com/Burn-Out...rocedures.html
3. I've never personally heard this, but I know I would never want to touch the transbrake PERIOD while my car was moving.

Just curious, why did you change the valve body to put nuetral at the very bottom, that would seem very strange to drive/stage at the track.
Old 08-26-2013, 10:50 PM