Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4L60e won't shift into 3rd or 4th

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2015, 01:45 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4L60e won't shift into 3rd or 4th

Being a newbie I think I've read nearly every post regarding the problem where the 4L60e trans will not shift into third or forth.

The trans was rebuilt and has less than 300 miles on it and operated perfectly until I hit the throttle at a very low speed, down shifting into first then second and no further. The trans will only shift from first to second from a dead stop. Once hitting RPMS to into third it revs up with no engaging of third.

I had a neighbor run the OBD2 against his Snap-on computer which indicated the trans was shifting into third then dropping back to second, however you could not feel the trans shift. Unfortunately he is not a transmission guy.

Pulling the main lead to the trans does not force the the trans to default to third gear as some have suggested. It stays in first and does not shift into second. Reconnecting the lead give me first and second again.

Given this, staying is first in the disconnected mode, indicative of a bigger problem? I should note the installer, not the builder was @ two quarts low of fluid which I was unaware of until this problem surfaced which I corrected.

I'm not knowledgeable on transmissions and will require someone to trouble shoot the problem in detail. Just trying to eliminate or identify specifics to streamline the process.

Suggestions/thoughts appreciated.

Last edited by 47 Indian; 06-05-2015 at 07:30 PM. Reason: clarification
Old 06-05-2015, 04:23 PM
TECH Addict

Received 504 Likes on 388 Posts

Sounds like the 3-4 clutches are gone. Do you have a warranty?
Old 06-05-2015, 07:28 PM
Teching In