Sponsored by:

Performace Parts Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2015, 09:37 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Performace Parts Help Please

Hello all,
First of I would like to say that being a Canadian these days makes buying a built transmission from someone like RPM very cost prohibitive. Take the US price and add 35% plus very high shipping costs.

I have a 99 Camaro which I am installing an LS3 pushing 500 RWHP NA and 600 RWHP on spray. Street/strip car with drag radials, 3600 stall, 3.42 gears. Want to race as often as I can.

From the research I have done I believe an RPM level V would suit my application. I am no expert though. Since i cannot afford to order one of these I am having a local tranmission builder build my transmission up for me. I will supply parts.
What I am looking for is which key parts will I need to have my builder use to make my transmission take my power and usage. Would it be as simple as using the parts list from the RPM website for a level V transmission?
Also is there a forum vendor that I could purchase these hard parts from?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Paul
Old 09-18-2015, 09:55 AM
TECH Addict

Received 504 Likes on 388 Posts

Have you read this thread?
https://ls1tech.com/forums/automatic...ld-thread.html
Old 09-18-2015, 06:07 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 230 Likes on 162 Posts

Have you considered a 4L80E (I am guessing your looking at a 60E)
Pretty much a stock build and minor tricks would work-just a thought
Old 09-18-2015, 06:28 PM

Received 389 Likes on 298 Posts

Originally Posted by forcd ind
Have you considered a 4L80E (I am guessing your looking at a 60E)
Pretty much a stock build and minor tricks would work-just a thought
You might find swapping in a 4L80E to be cheaper than building/buying a quality 4L65E. Even a pull from a junk yard is likely to handle your power with little or no upgrades.