Sponsored by:

question about torque converters

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2004, 08:56 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default question about torque converters

Ok, I admit it. I am a noob here and am learning as i go, so be gentle

Can someone please explain what the torque converter does, what difference does a higher or lower stall number mean, what a higher stall converter will do to the streetability of a daily driver and anything else you can think that's important to know. Also what's the factory tc on a 2000 Z28?

Any help is appreciated
Old 07-08-2004, 11:29 PM
TECH Resident

The factory stall converter is around 1600 rpm's. A stall converter simply slips your engine into a higher RPM. With my stock stall and street tires, I could hold my foot down on the brake and gas it to about 1450 rpm's before my tires would break loose. Now, with my Vigilante 3200 stall, my tires wont break loose until I gas it to about 2950 rpm's on my street tires. If I were to flash my converter ( launching at idle ) my converter would see around 3600 rpm's and launch my car hard. My Vig. 3200 is a great street/ strip converter. I drive my car daily and have no complaints. I would recommend this converter to anyone. Also, try to test drive someones car that has a higher stall converter. You will catch on alot easier and will begin to understand more about what it does. Hope this helps.
-Brent
Old 07-09-2004, 12:55 AM
TECH Fanatic

everything he said plus i would like to add my vote in for the VIG
A TC really helps the "sleeper" appeal bcuz you can look every where on the car and not find anything until somone wants to run from a light...
Old 07-09-2004, 03:14 AM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Search