Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Converter Question??

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2004, 05:32 PM
FormerVendor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Converter Question??

Im looking into getting a T-rex cam and its states that you need a 4000+ converter..I called a guy to get some prices and he basically told me that i was crazy since im a daily driver. He said it would blow my transmission. . Is this true? anyone got a 4000+ converter and have a stock tranny?
Old 08-19-2004, 05:45 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by T-WrEcKzSiLv-RBiRdY
Im looking into getting a T-rex cam and its states that you need a 4000+ converter..I called a guy to get some prices and he basically told me that i was crazy since im a daily driver. He said it would blow my transmission. . Is this true? anyone got a 4000+ converter and have a stock tranny?
Vig 3800 in mine for a year now.......Love it! It just takes some getting used to. Just put you car in D unless you are going faster than 55. It will lock up the converter faster and make it more street friendly. Temp gauge is a good idea(almost a must)And make sure you get a trans cooler. Mine was running at 210 in the city and now with my B&M in dosnt get above 180.
Old 08-19-2004, 05:48 PM
Teching In

I have a yank 4000 in one of my cars and I drive it evry day
Old 08-19-2004, 05:49 PM
FormerVendor

Originally Posted by Need2gofaster
Vig 3800 in mine for a year now.......Love it! It just takes some getting used to. Just put you car in D unless you are going faster than 55. It will lock up the converter faster and make it more street friendly. Temp gauge is a good idea(almost a must)And make sure you get a trans cooler. Mine was running at 210 in the city and now with my B&M in dosnt get above 180.
When you say D you mean overdrive right because i know theres alittle diff betw t/a and camaro. Also if im going over 55..then what?? And what do you mean by temp gauge..by a new gauge or what?? sorry im a newbie with some of this stuff