Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4L60E help please

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2004, 09:12 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 4L60E help please

hey guys, new to the "tranny" scene. my 4L60E in my '94 bird is goin bad. before i installed a new filter and pan gasket (becuase of a blown gasket) the conveter didnt wana stall at mid to high rpm ranges, and it would even grind when it was trying to (im only guessing it was my converter). after the filter and gasket change it still does it and its getn worse. im not a tranny expert but aside from a bad converter, maybe its a bad servo slipping or something?? please help.

also, im just thinkin of getn a whole new tranny. what would b good for a slightly modded 94 LT1?? thanks for any help, im gona dig through this section of LS1tech and do some homework on trannys.

ps. furgot to mention that while driving, letting off the throttle at any speed the rpms will drop down to idle as a manual tranny would do when the clutch is depressed and seperates from the motor.

Last edited by LT1Burnout; 11-07-2004 at 09:33 PM.
Old 11-07-2004, 09:50 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by LT1Burnout
.....it would even grind when it was trying to (im only guessing it was my converter). after the filter and gasket change it still does it and its getn worse......letting off the throttle at any speed the rpms will drop down to idle as a manual tranny would do when the clutch is depressed and seperates from the motor.
Yes, your torque converter is probably toast. Changing the fluid and filter does not resolve mechanical problems. At this point you should stop driving it until it is repaired. It the converter clutch should happen to come apart the debris can clog the cooling lines and/or the cooler itself. Without cooling the transmission will overheat and suffer greater than it already has. You could have other problems too. There may be an issue with overrun or line pressures...
Old 11-07-2004, 09:54 PM
Launching!