Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Removing Tranmission dipstick...

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2005, 01:41 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Removing Tranmission dipstick...

Heh, Not to sound retarded here, but I'm new to LS1's.. I just got a 1998 LS1 z28 a while back. I want to check the transmission fluid... so I pulled it in my garage tonight and went to pull the tranmission dipstick out and i took the clamp that says "trans lock" or whatever and pulled it to the right to unlock it... i then tugged on the handle to pull it out of the dipstick tube and it wont budge.. is there a special technique to removing it to check the transmission fluid or what? I didn't want to break the assembly to lock the dipstick in the tubing... heh.. Let me know... Thanks!
Old 12-20-2005, 04:54 AM
TECH Regular

Not retarded at all. Same thing happened to me, bought the car in May 2004. I changed the trans fluid, filter, and pan gasket, no problems. A few months ago I went to check the trans fluid level and the trans dipstick would not friggin budge.
Grab a hold of the rubber grommet and wiggle it back and forth with a little force and pull out at the same time. Do not pull it out by just tugging on the red locking mechanism handle.
Old 12-20-2005, 06:32 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Just a fair warning...if you do remove the dipstick tube, it can be a big pita to get it back in place.
Old 12-20-2005, 08:23 AM
Staging Lane

i had same problem, just wiggle it a little and pull.....maybe whoever checked it last put in in wrong....is there a certain way? I've had this same problem
Old 12-20-2005, 11:43 AM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yeah, don't yank the little red handle off. I used to work at the dealership, and I had to use vise-grips on the ones that people had ripped off. That sucked.

Just pull on the round piece below the handle, and kinda wiggle it if you can.