Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque converter install and brand questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2006, 07:06 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Torque converter install and brand questions

Ok, first off is installation. So far of the shops locally that I have asked the price of an install for a torque converter on my car have said about $375-400+fluids. I'm a college student so money is tight, but I would really like to get a torque converter with how much you guys say it makes your car feel better. So my question is, could my dad and I(he knows a pretty decent amount about cars too, he did engine swaps and stuff on them when he was younger) out in our shed, which is basically a huge garage, with a hydrolic jack, a couple jack stands and a a couple ramps, install the torque converter ourselves? How hard would it be? If it's possible I would like to do it that way because I would save a lot of money.

The other question is, what brand should I go with? I was thinking Fuddle since the price is so good(money again , I'm always going price for performance). I would like to get one somewhere in the 3200-3600 stall range that still drives almost stock under normal driving conditions, but still gives you a big punch when you hit it. What would be a good company for that? Would fuddle be like that? I heard Yank's converters are tight, so they drive well in a daily driver, but I don't know about fuddle's.

Thanks for the help
Old 10-21-2006, 07:31 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

www.modernmusclecars.net has a TC install thats been around for a while. Personally I paid $300 a couple years ago to have a shop do mine, depends on your area, some people get them done for less. Since money is a factor remember you might/probably will need some tuning after the install, also I'd install a cooler - did that myself.
Old 10-21-2006, 08:16 PM
TECH Apprentice