Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

hoping my 3/4 clutch packs arent going out..

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2007, 12:54 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default hoping my 3/4 clutch packs arent going out..

The other day i took off down the street WOT from pretty much a stop.. well 1st gear went fine and into 2nd was smooth.. right at the top of 2nd gear it seemed to skip. IT was like it hit the rev limiter once and then shifted. Or maybe the transmission let go going into 3rd. I dont know what that could be so Im hoping someone on here has some answers for me. I have a video but my friend wont be able to get it to me til tomorrow so I will post it up then.

All I know is today it didnt really do it.. now I think this may be due to a difference in temperature because my car was way warmer tonight then it was that time. (i dont know Im not an expert)

hopefully its not the tranny.. im about to go to start college with about $200 and with all these bills i will feel like an all time ******* going to my parents for money..
Old 07-31-2007, 07:30 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 78 Likes on 56 Posts

Higher temps can decrease fluid viscosity and slow apply. Not sure how old or how many miles on the trans but based on what your saying and the fact you need it to last for school I would suggest changing he fluild and filter and not being so hard on it for a while.

Call 888-744-6542

Old 07-31-2007, 09:57 AM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Check the fluid condition... if it smells burnt there may be damage. But it appears to be intermittant so it may not be a big concern.

Do change the fluid and filter, have it inspected by a professional. That will be the best $$$ you spend on your car this month.

Good Luck.

g
Old 07-31-2007, 03:29 PM
TECH Regular