Automotive Careers Looking for an automotive job or employees?

Need Advice - Career as Service Writer ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2010, 03:08 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Advice - Career as Service Writer ?

I would greatly appreciate information and advice.

This is the position I am in.. I have a disability, my wrists are not great. I can use them and do pretty much anything, but not continuously like most people. The length depends on the task. Being a Mechanic is absolutely out of the question, I can't do that sort of intense (wrist) labor for multiple hours a day, 5 days a week.

I can't ask you to judge how much I can do, of course. But if you can tell me what you have to do, that will give me a good idea.

Cars interest me, and technical / detailed subjects interest me. So, what I understand of this position, it sounds pretty good. I'm studying Auto Service now from a textbook, and I enjoy it.. that of course, does not count towards any official education that I can put on paper, though.

I've studied PC repair, and I plan to get my A+ and network+ certifications by the end of this year. Voc Rehab will pay for my college education, as long as it leads to work (up to a bachelors.). So, my thought is to get an associates degree studying part-time at a local college in automotive service, and try to get some related job while in school, i.e. delivering parts for NAPA.. I assume the PC background would help with a service writer position, because they have to use the PCs to make estimates, keep records, etc. right?

That's my background, I suppose.

So, do you have any advice for me?
Am I going the wrong direction to look into this as a career?
What's the job outlook like, how hard is it to get the position?
What are the chances of being hired part-time ( if I weren't able to physically perform those duties full-time, though I haven't found out what all they are yet. )