Automotive Careers Looking for an automotive job or employees?

Would you guys hire someone who trained at UTI?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2011, 07:24 PM
10 Second Club

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default Would you guys hire someone who trained at UTI?

Hi, I am currently serving in the military and since the wars are ending and drawing down the army is looking to cut 50k troops. My contract is ending soon and I was redoing my re enlistment paperwork when I was told that I really dont have many options of re enlisting since my MOS is overstaffed.

basicly the onlything I can do is extend my contract 16 months and hope things change. I love being in the army and really do not want to leave. I am a outstanding soldier and will soon be promoted too but the army does not base a soldiers worth on that anymore its simply filling spots, and there really are only a handfull of things that I can reclass too.

My question is this my other passion has always been performance cars and I dont want to work in a regular garage. If i dont stay in the army I am trying to get a feel for what direction I should go.

does UTI, or SAM or any of those things look good on a resume when hiring? ive heard alot of places dont want to hire anyone from UTI I just want the answers strait from the people who do the hiring
Old 07-09-2011, 01:41 AM
Sawzall and Welder Mod

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

A lot of places dont want to hire people who went to UTI, because of the sheer mass number of students that are turned out of there. Many are young and simply went in lieu of a university.. their parents just wanted them out of the house and they bought into the BS that their recruiters sell. This results in a lot of students representing that school that simply cruised their way through and got the certificate.