Automotive Careers Looking for an automotive job or employees?

UTI Schools

Old 02-11-2008, 07:25 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I visited UTI, but ended up going through the high performance program at UNOH (It's like a hybrid of SAM and UTI). After 4.0 GPA, perfect attendance blah blah I was accepted in the STEP program. At the last second I got an offer to work at PAC Racing/Peterson Spring running the valvetrain dynamics lab. Looking back I believe it was the right decision for me. I have a way cool job and work with all kinds of race teams. I also have the freedom to do a lot of my own projects (new small .700" lift LSX dual for example). I don't think I would have been happy at a dealership. You can make good money in almost any field with hardwork.

I do wish I could go to SAM for the their block and cylinder head classes jsut for my own personal knowledge. UNOH's were only 3 months long. I'm still a decent machinist (even though I don't do any of that now), but I'm sure there's a ton of tricks I would love to learn.
Old 02-15-2008, 02:12 PM
Launching!

I graduated from uti in 2001. All I can really ay about the school is that you get out of it what you want to get out of it. If you pay attention and want to learn you will learn a ton of very useful stuff. I have worked for a lot of dealerships since then. Ford, mazda, hyundai, honda, nissan, dodge, jeep, chevy, and others. I finally got sick of dealership politics and went into the aftermarket. My worst year sinc 02 was 54k and that is only working 40-45hrs per week. oh and I live in wisconsin so 50 k is pretty good money.
Old 02-22-2008, 05:07 PM
TECH Enthusiast