Anyone using the Edelbrock MSD module? - LS1TECH



Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

Anyone using the Edelbrock MSD module?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2012, 12:27 PM   #1
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
GNCLONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 316
Default Anyone using the Edelbrock MSD module?

Is anyone using the non-programmable box that comes with the 7118 kit?




I've used different "pills" in it and can't tell any difference. I thought someone on here once said it runs fine with no pill at all.

Last edited by GNCLONE; 04-02-2012 at 05:02 PM.
GNCLONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 03:26 PM   #2
11 Second Club
iTrader: (27)
 
Z28/2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Your girl's back door giving her the long stroke while you're at work
Posts: 6,802
Default

When you pull a pill out it remains on that timing pill. So say you have Curve 6 in and pull it out, the box will remain on that curve until a different one is inserted

Curve 3 is default on the box
Z28/2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:16 PM   #3
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
GNCLONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 316
Default

Have you noticed much difference between the pills?
GNCLONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 11:10 PM   #4
11 Second Club
iTrader: (27)
 
Z28/2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Your girl's back door giving her the long stroke while you're at work
Posts: 6,802
Default

I never noticed a difference and I ran the Edelbrock box for almost a year then switched to the MSD 6010
Z28/2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:11 AM   #5
On The Tree
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 130
Default

I have one in my car, runs great, but I just ordered a 6010 mainly because of the rev limiter. Also, the timing curves on those pills all have 35 or 36 degrees of timing which makes me a little nervous because my motor is 10.5:1. Gonna dyno it as soon as I get the new box in, and I want to ba able to put less timing in if we determine that it's detonating.
tommy396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:55 AM   #6
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
GNCLONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 316
Default

Yeah, it works great for me too, just seems like the pills are all very mild/conservative.
GNCLONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:07 AM   #7
In-Zane Moderator
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,249
Default

When I went from the #6 pill to my own custom tune, it was a whole different car.
ZONES89RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:10 AM   #8
On The Tree
 
richard david's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 165
Default

I ran one on mine for a year and thought it worked good untilled I got the 6010 and was able to set my on timing curve. My best time with eld. box was 11.22 at 121 with the 6010 box it went 10.95 at 124
richard david is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 09:32 AM   #9
On The Tree
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 130
Default

Hey Richard, I'm curious what your timing curve looks like? My car seems great on pill #6, but hily crap you picked up alot of time doing your own curve. Also GNClone, I thought 36 degrees was kind of aggressive? What does your curve look like? & are you running 93 octane?My car is mainly a street car, hasn't seen the track yet.
tommy396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 05:04 PM   #10
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
GNCLONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy396 View Post
... Also GNClone, I thought 36 degrees was kind of aggressive? What does your curve look like? & are you running 93 octane?My car is mainly a street car, hasn't seen the track yet.
conservative in the choices I should say

No clue what my curve looks like, but yes, I run 91 or 93 whatever I can get
GNCLONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 05:21 PM   #11
In-Zane Moderator
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,249
Default

Gaining 3 mph sounds like it would be right, actually a custom timing setup that the car wants.

I run 35 total, I can run 87 just fine but it diesels when I shut it off, so I run 89. On nitrous of course I ran 93 and sprayed aviation fuel in with the nitrous.
ZONES89RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 07:23 PM   #12
8 Second Club
iTrader: (3)
 
3pedals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: WPG MB
Posts: 1,846
Default

I tried all kinds of different curves, but in the end my car liked an almost flat timing curve. With the 9.6:1 setup it liked about 15startup, 38* from 800rpm up to 3500, then tapering down to 35-36 throught top rpm
On the engine dyno with my new 11.0:1 setup , it likes 15* startup, then 32* idle to finish rpm
3pedals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:27 PM   #13
On The Tree
 
richard david's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 165
Default

I have mine set at 37from 1200 to 4600 then drops to 32 the rest of the way shifting at 7000
richard david is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:11 PM   #14
On The Tree
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 130
Default

Why do you guys drop it down through the torque curve? Does it detonate if you don't? Just wondering, I wanna have a clue what I'm doing when I get to the dyno.
tommy396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:16 PM   #15
8 Second Club
iTrader: (3)
 
3pedals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: WPG MB
Posts: 1,846
Default

mine ran the same mph through the lights with anywhere from 32* to 37* from 5000rpm up, and I decided to run 35* in the end,
BUT, it REALLY LOVED the added timing(38) at low rpm, - specifically below the rpm where the cam was "happy" - idle to 3500. This made the driveability improve dramatically.
Barrett
3pedals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 12:36 PM   #16
Staging Lane
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 56
Default

I have been running one on my boat for years. I started with the dual plane, then got a Vic jr. Lost alot of torque!! I am running the ASA cam and it reacts to the different pills. I think I'm on #4 or #5. One thing I can't figure out is a consistant pop/back fire over the whole rpm range? Maybe a coil?Besides that it's a pretty good plug & play setup.
Moneyshott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 04:51 PM   #17
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
GNCLONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 316
Default

I am using the number 1 pill, seems like a lot of people use/used the #6
GNCLONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Meter Shift Light Pill 6800 RPM speedtigger Parts Wanted 0 01-11-2014 01:33 PM
Edelbrock timing pills + MSD 6010 pills The stunningman Conversions & Hybrids 1 03-22-2009 10:49 AM
WTB Pill 5-6k pill kit for shift light HoLLo Parts Wanted 1 09-23-2008 08:23 PM
100 shot to 125 shot.. Major difference. quickblade Nitrous Oxide 12 03-11-2008 08:57 PM
What timing pill in my edel 7118 box? Zedzag Conversions & Hybrids 0 05-27-2007 01:58 PM


Tags
6, 7118, application, backfire, box, curve, edelbrock, edlbrock, ls1, module, msd, nos, pill, pills, pull, timing, will, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.