Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

Carbed L76 with stock valvetrain?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2014, 01:05 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carbed L76 with stock valvetrain?

Can you run an L76 with VVT/DOD without a computer? I don't want to do a cam swap and delete everything yet, so I'm wondering if the default for the engine if the electronics portion isn't hooked up will allow the engine to run like normal.

Last edited by 98onyxss; 05-10-2014 at 01:29 AM.
Old 05-12-2014, 11:06 AM
Teching In

Buehler?
Old 05-12-2014, 02:33 PM
Old School Heavy

Received 50 Likes on 32 Posts

You might ask this question is the gen IV section internal engine section. The only thing I have read is guys wanting to eliminate those features. I know Texas Speed sells a kit to eliminate the DOD and VVT.
Old 05-12-2014, 03:41 PM
UOP
Staging Lane

I'm new to the LSx world, but I am also using an L76 in my build. My research suggests you can't run a carb with the VVT cam due to it being either too far advanced or retarded in default. In that case, it pretty much negates having to worry about the AFM/DoD part because if the VVT needs to be removed you can't use that cam anyway. Looks like the cam needs to be swapped for a 3 bolt, non VVT cam. Maybe a stock LS3 cam. You can buy a kit to remove the VVT and AFM/DoD (Tick Performance is who I've looked at) for about $550.

Last edited by UOP; 05-12-2014 at 03:53 PM.
Old 05-13-2014, 03:53 PM
Teching In

The guys in the internals section said to ask over here! Lol.