4150 throttle body (come on, it's like a carb) linkage - LS1TECH



Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

4150 throttle body (come on, it's like a carb) linkage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2017, 06:45 PM   #1
Launching!
Thread Starter
 
Major Shart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 256
Default 4150 throttle body (come on, it's like a carb) linkage

I'm using a FAST 4150 tb with a throttle cable from an '86 Blazer. What are you guys using to link the cable to the carb/tb?
Major Shart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 09:26 PM   #2
Launching!
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 289
Default

On a 4th gen camaro I used this cable end https://www.google.com/aclk?sa=l&ai=...Qwg8IHA&adurl= with factory throttle cable.
tug686spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 06:06 AM   #3
TECH Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 502
Default

Lokar stainless braid cable. Looks the best. And works good. You just have to use that plastic peice that the cable goes through on the pedal from the stock setup.
TTur1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 08:48 AM   #4
Launching!
Thread Starter
 
Major Shart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tug686spd View Post
On a 4th gen camaro I used this cable end https://www.google.com/aclk?sa=l&ai=...Qwg8IHA&adurl= with factory throttle cable.
Damn it, I already took the factory one out. But either way I would just cut it to fit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTur1996 View Post
Lokar stainless braid cable. Looks the best. And works good. You just have to use that plastic peice that the cable goes through on the pedal from the stock setup.
Ya I have seen a few of those while searching this. Those do look really nice. I'm going to look into it.
Major Shart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 11:19 AM   #5
Launching!
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 289
Default

Yes you would just cut the throttle body end ball off and use the universal end. I made my own throttle body bracket because they are all based off carburetor linkage and put the cable to far out off the side for any cable end to mount straight on. Most people pull the bolt out of the cable end like I listed and use a longer one. I felt i didnt want anymore leverage there than I needed. And on the mine the cowl is cut to the windshiel for the most part. I left all the top cowl push pin holes intact and a couple on the outside on bottom so I can still snap the cowl on. Heres a couple pics if you have any more questions just ask.




tug686spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 12:40 PM   #6
Launching!
Thread Starter
 
Major Shart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 256
Default

I have my cowl trimmed back also, and like you I left the holes to reinstall the plastic trim in hopes that all of this fits under my already trimmed (underneath) factory style hood. I have the AED carb bracket already so I think I'll stay with that and deal with the offset.
Major Shart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 01:33 PM   #7
Launching!
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 289
Default

One other problem I had was the height of where the throttle cable hooked onto the bracket. I knew id be running nitrous one way or another. So in planning for that I put the 3/4" spacer in and that made my throttle cable bracket hit the cowl. So that might be something to look at if you plan on nitrous down the road. Some plates are 1/2" and some are 1", the only one I know of at 3/4" is the stinger. Heres is some more pics of my car, probably should have taken more progress pics but who needs pics when you can just go look at it. 02 Camaro parts pile
tug686spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 03:22 PM   #8
Launching!
Thread Starter
 
Major Shart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 256
Default

That's strange because your cowl is cut farther back than mine and I'm fine even with my Stinger III plate on there. In fact I can even run a 1" spacer with the plate and still be fine.

Major Shart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 04:38 PM   #9
11 Second Club
 
Doug G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harford Co. Maryland
Posts: 3,267
Default

Lokar
Doug G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 05:58 PM   #10
Launching!
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major Shart View Post
That's strange because your cowl is cut farther back than mine and I'm fine even with my Stinger III plate on there. In fact I can even run a 1" spacer with the plate and still be fine.

Might not be to strange. Looks like you have the Jr to my Super.
tug686spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 06:18 PM   #11
Launching!
Thread Starter
 
Major Shart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 256
Default

Ah yes. How much taller is the Super than the Jr?
Major Shart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 07:27 PM   #12
Launching!
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 289
Default

I have both and never even sat them beside each other let alone measure them. Heres a pic i robbed from an old thread. Super victor under 7,000 rpm
tug686spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 08:13 PM   #13
Launching!
Thread Starter
 
Major Shart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 256
Default

Awesome picture, thanks for posting it. Looks like about an inch at most.
Major Shart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 04:30 PM   #14
On The Tree
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major Shart View Post
That's strange because your cowl is cut farther back than mine and I'm fine even with my Stinger III plate on there. In fact I can even run a 1" spacer with the plate and still be fine.

what cfm is that throttle body?
tom70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 04:44 PM   #15
Launching!
Thread Starter
 
Major Shart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Woodbridge, Va.
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom70 View Post
what cfm is that throttle body?
1375 cfm
Major Shart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 10:42 AM   #16
On The Tree
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 170
Default

I have a 1000 cfm and 50 lb injectors on a gm performance rectangular port intake.
tom70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
close up pic of 4150 throttle body with cable??? vbls Generation III External Engine 24 04-22-2016 03:55 PM
FAST 4150 TB with throttle cable bracket WheelsUp84z Parts Classifieds 1 05-12-2015 11:35 AM
Anyone use a 4150 throttle body on a drive by wire car? 1fastxz Generation IV External Engine 0 10-09-2010 07:48 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send