Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

Just bought Z28, need some maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2013, 09:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just bought Z28, need some maintenance

I recently purchased a '93 Z28 for $3,000, original everything. It's got 200K miles on it, but hasn't been driven rough. The previous owner is a friend of the family, and she had it dealership maintained up until she stopped driving it, around 5 - 8 years ago.

I've been driving it for a few months now, and have found some issues that need to be addressed with it. I was wondering if you guys could help me deduce the solutions!

The first problem is with acceleration/driving over 50mph. When accelerating hard or cruising over 50, the engine 'jerks'. It feels like the engine kicks back a little, and the car hesitates to increase speed. This problem is consistent.

The second problem is intermittent, and involves the car idling rough. I can't really find a variable that causes it, but it chugs and idles rough/inconsistently when it's doing this. It doesn't seem to be related to the first problem.

The third problem is with the oil pressure. This is actually a two-part problem. One, the car eats oil. There is definitely a leak, coming from somewhere around the back of the engine. I'm not exactly sure where. Two, every time I decelerate quickly the oil pressure drops to zero and the 'check gauges' light comes on. This problem is consistent.

I had the fuel tank replaced when I first got the car, have had the tires rotated and balanced, and have had an alignment done.

Thanks in advance for any assistance!
Old 03-07-2013, 07:43 AM
Launching!

You have been driving for a few months with an engine that has a serious oil pressure problem?
Old 03-07-2013, 09:56 AM

One, I don't really have a choice. Two, it's only when I brake. After a second, the pressure goes back up to normal. As far as the leak, that's not a serious issue as long as I keep adding oil.