Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine controller choices..GMPP...speartec etc.

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2009, 11:22 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine controller choices..GMPP...speartec etc.

hello, Im new to this and not too good with a computer. I am a carb guy getting into fuel injection, ls2 into an offroad race "jeep". I have read up on the engine choices and understand most of the quirks...gen3...gen4..etc. here is my question, GMPP sells an engine controller ecm, drive by wire and harness for the ls2 crate engine for @ $800.00. other places want substantially more such as speartec, current performance...... My use is in an offroad only application with t350 tranny so no trans. controller needed. I also am a firm believer in "You get what you pay for". This will be a gen IV, so apples to apples why the price difference in GMPP compared to others? are the connectors different? This will be used in a dirty, dusty somewhat wet and muddy environment so connector quality may be and issue. Any help in this choice would be appreciated... Thanks from Washington State....Jon
Old 12-17-2009, 11:45 PM
LSxGuy widda 9sec Mustang

GMPP is similar to OEM, it does have its quirks, but what makes it a value is that it does come with extras such as the ECM, underhood fuse box, DBW throttle pedal, O2 sensors and mass air. The connectors are the same as you would find on any late model GM, weather resistant, etc. The thing that is a turnoff is you cannot specify specific underhood wiring lengths; all the harnesses appear the same design, and as such things like the MAF and coolant sensor have unnecessary generic lengths. Another possible hangup, is that the harnesses are more Gen IV specific, as in relocated cam sensor, map sensor, and different injector connectors and different crank/cam reluctor wheels (on later LS2, LS3/LS7).