Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

240lsx swap questions and advice.

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2010, 02:37 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 240lsx swap questions and advice.

alright so I am new to this v8 game. I have always had 4cyl. motors and one was turbocharged. I am getting ready to start competing in drift competitions and i have been considering my options as far as what motors to go with and i am highly considering going with a v8. I'm not a newb in the car scene, just moving into the new era of swaps and what motor i can get the most hp and tq without having to put a ton of money into to get it into the 350 to the wheels range.

I love ls1's, been around them a little bit and it is for sure an ideal motor for me but the cost factor is another thing so i have been looking into other options and The truck motors are something im trying to get more information on.

The 5.3L is the one i have been primarily looking at and the question i have is can i put ls1 heads on it or would i even need to? what mods are recommended for this motor to get into ls1 form?

and the 6.0 truck motor is another, i havent looked into this one as much as the 5.3 but i would like to know it would be a better buy over a 5.3?

I have found several 5.3's in wrecked trucks for under 1k with low mileage around my area and a couple 6.0's for a little more id say lol.

lets focus on the 5.3, what can be done without having to do any boring or anything to get the power numbers up on it. I plan on putting in a mild cam with valve springs and retainers maybe some hardened push rods?? but other than that i don't want to have to do too much, maybe head gaskets depending on the condition of the motor.

Last edited by slidestyle; 02-25-2010 at 03:04 PM.
Old 02-25-2010, 05:01 PM
Teching In