Sponsored by:

Gen 3 F Body - LQ9 Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2010, 07:49 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gen 3 F Body - LQ9 Questions

A bit of background...

Managed a couple of production engine rebuilders for about 10 years before getting in to other things. I've had my hands on more engines than I can count and built quite a few performance engines for a variety of vehicles and racing platforms, Chevrolet, Ford, Pontiac... little bit of everything.

I left the engine business about the time the LS1 was hitting the market so I have no experience with this platform.

I have spent the past several months reading over the forums here, thirdgen, protouring, lateral-g...etc.

For a variety of reasons, some rational some not, I plan to build an IROC Camaro and have access to and 85 and 86, both rolling shells. I want to build a 'pro touring' type of car that I can hop in and drive coast to coast, so nothing that won't idle with A/C (it's damn hot in Texas in July). I'd love to see 500RWHP but that's not a hard and fast number. Cubes is the answer here I think... isn't it always?

I like the LS series of engines for the obvious benefits over the previous SBC engines, packaging, head design, disbtributorless ignition, block design...etc. However, I'm not going to spend 10 grand to build one, for a lot less I can build a very nice SBC with aluminum heads.... you get my point.

I've been looking at LS1 blocks around here and every time I put a dial bore gauge on one it's hitting 3.904 - .09 or real close...and still needs a hone etc. Sleeving is cost prohibitive, read all about that.

As I'm not real concerned about weight and prefer displacement I'm thinking LQ9 truck block so I can bore if I want and will have 366+ cubes to start with. I do have a pair of LS1 241 heads I was going to port match which will bump CR to around 11:1 if I have read correctly.

This is where I get a bit sideways...