Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Carbed LS3 Tuning Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2010, 08:47 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Carbed LS3 Tuning Help

Well im new to the carbed LS setup.Im needing some advice tuning this thing.Its a stock LS3 with a Livernois stage 2 cam.Intake duration is 230@.050 exhaust 236@.050 intake lift .590 exhaust lift .600 with 114lsa.Running a GMPP single plane intake with a 4150 Holley 850DP.The car is a 78 nova full wieght car with th350 10inch 3800 stall, 4:10 gear and 27 inch tall tire....right now its running pretty rich from looking at the plugs.The carb is jetted 80/80 im thinking dropping it to 76/76.It has a stumble at when accelerating from partial throttle to mid then it smooths ut once the rpms get up some.Also im using the MSD 6012 ignition box.Right now im using the number 3 pill.Gonna put the MAP sensor in and coustom tune it soon as i get a serial port adapter for my laptop.What would you guys suggest far as jetting on the carb and accelerator pump,squirters,ect.I bought it reconditioned back to factory specs.Should have a 8.5 power valve in it.Should have 31 squirters front and back also.....Thanks for any help!
Old 07-27-2010, 11:46 PM
8 Second Club

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

all the pills in the 6012 SUCK!! they all have to little timing for a carb application. I have a stock cam in my engine right now, but i will be changing to 1 with 227/235 @ .050", and 114 lsa, very soon
Here is arough idea of my timing curves:
0-1000rpm - 15*
1000 - 2000 - ramping from 15* to 33*
2000 - 4000 - 33*
4000 - 6000 - 33* dropping to 32*
6000 and above 32*

Map: ( I may have to change this a tiny bit when I put my cam in)
15* from 0 to 4psia
15* dropping to 0, from 4psia, to 10psia

Carb: