Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My tri-five swap has begun, I need suggestions...

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2011, 02:37 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My tri-five swap has begun, I need suggestions...

Hello,

I need a bit of direction with my project. I’m new to the LS world, but pretty excited to do my first swap.
I’m putting this into a 1955 Chevy and need to know the best way to get all the parts together and working right.

Engine: 2008 5.3 with under 18k miles. It was in a show truck, so is nicely painted and detailed.

It has this fairly mild cam:

The pan is a new Corvette LS2, so I will need to sell this and get a Holley or other pan that will fit.

The trans is a 2000-2001 L460e and I have a set of 2010 SS Camaro exhaust manifolds
(I think they will fit)

This is everything I have. I'm gonna get the motor mounts from S&P.

How do I go about getting the following?:
  1. A wiring harness? I know nothing about this.
    Wish I could have gotten the original harness with the engine, but it wasn't available.
    Where's a good place to get a wiring harness?
  2. LS1-style intake? Ebay, craigslist, etc?

Anything else I need to know? Just found out that I have to use a drive-by-wire throttle.

I know I have a long way to go but I want to do this on a budget and have it to look fairly simple and clean, like a factory installation. Don’t want to spend lots of money on bling, because I want to drive instead of polish.

Any suggestions/tips where to get parts or reduce headaches will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited by Geoff55; 06-19-2011 at 07:09 PM.
Old 06-19-2011, 07:28 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

You need to PM Chuck Leeper (goes by Old Geezer), he's got his LS/55 up and running...
Old 06-20-2011, 08:00 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Painless would make the easiest to use harness i believe. I modified my own so i can't give any review on a harness company.