Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Something Different!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2012, 09:11 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Something Different!!

This is my 38K Box A 1960 Pontiac Starchief Sedan project. I am just getting ready to take the car down to the frame to be sandblasted and have all the rust repaired. My plan for the car is to be our Resto Mod sedan that we can drive anywhere in comfort reliably! I'm thinking a White Roof over fire engine red sitting on whitewalls with Black and white interior The cool part is I want to transplant the complete drivetrain (minus rearend) from an 00-03 GM truck (either a 5.3 or 4.8 automatic) My goal here is to keep the powertrain bone stock including exhaust. Not looking for a road warrior just an everyday driver that appears 100% original until you open the hood. I have NEVER done anything like this before and I'm not some high end auto shop technician either just a farm boy with a plan I'm on somewhat of a budget here so any tips are appreciated as I blast into the unknown...

Ol' 2bbl 389

Old 02-09-2012, 09:23 PM
On The Tree

What a score! Personally, I would leave it as it looks for the most part. Recover the seats, update the suspension/brakes and do the LS swap.
Old 02-09-2012, 09:36 PM
Teching In

Thanks I bought the car from my Grandpa for 1500 bucks a few yrs ago. I've considered leaving it the original color but the wife brought up the white over red and now I can't get it out of my head!! I'm a ways out from paint so I have time to ponder....But when I finish it will still look completely bone stock
Old 02-09-2012, 09:45 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

The last thing the world needs is another red car, that original color is pretty cool and fitting (opinion of course). Sweet ride either way.
Old 02-09-2012, 09:47 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Damn, that dash is cherry!
Old 02-09-2012, 10:02 PM
Teching In