Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Project-89 Coupe LSX Re-swap, now going turbo

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2012, 08:01 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Project-89 Coupe LSX Re-swap, now going turbo

I bought this car probably about 2 months ago and I am just getting started on it. A little bit about the car-02 LQ9 with 4L60E out of a Denali, 5 lug conversion, newer paint, cowl hood, sub-frame connectors, moroso rear drag springs, and 3.73 gears. Motor and trans are bone stock.

I knew the car needed somethings on the swap re-done and that didn't bother me, plus I was going to mod the motor but I was not expecting this. The guy I bought the car off of did a pretty shitty job on the swap, basically hacked up a ton of **** on it! The further and further we got into tearing it apart, the more and more aggrevated I got! I couldn't believe someone would actually do the stupid *** things this guy did on the swap! Oh well, I had planned on pulling the motor to build it some so now I get the chance to re-do the swap the right way.

The car will be getting the following

Parts I already have-
Cartek 4x heads
RPM level 5 t56
Custom made stainless steel headers
Built 8.8 rearend (4.10s, spool, 35 spline axles, 9in ends, 5/8in upgraded studs)
Flaming river steering rack
Lakewood 50/50 rear shocks
Weight jackers & double adjustable control arms

Parts I still need
Front shocks
42lb injectors
Intake manifold (undecided on which one)
Fuel rails
90m TB
Custom cam (undecided on exact specs)
Clutch
Drive shaft
AJE K-member
And probably some misc parts along the way

Now on to pics!

These pics are of the engine after a few things were taken off (vortec intake cover, intake that belongs on a moped). The dumbasas had both the full Denali and 4cyl mustang harness still in the car!

The "custom" exhaust made for the car WELDED directly to the exhaust manifolds!

Motor on the way out!

Engine bay empty, cleaned and ready to be smoothed!