Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

School me please.

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2012, 12:25 PM
Staging Lane

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default School me please.

I'm completely new to these motors. And I don't know what to look for or what I'm looking at Or what to ask. I just got a 6.0 (12551364) and a 4l65e (4kzd) and I want to install it in a 63 nova wagon.
How do i find out what car and year the motor n tranny came Out of. I want to modify my harness my self. But don't know what diagram I need to fallow. iv seen a bunch on this great site. And it makes my head spin. So any info that would let me see the light would be great.
Old 09-25-2012, 06:14 PM
Staging Lane

Don't be shy. Feel free to help.
Old 09-25-2012, 08:21 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

If you read the stickies and the nova build threads and have any specific questions after that I'm sure someone will try to help you, but 99% of people here are not going to try if it looks like you aren't either. This was the first result when I googled "ls1 wiring harness info", it's a pretty often-referenced site and from I understand is pretty useful http://www.lt1swap.com/wiringharness.htm
Old 09-26-2012, 08:31 AM
Launching!

6.0 sounds like it could have only came from a truck.
Old 09-26-2012, 08:37 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Same ol same ol Leon Phelps GENIOUS! Possibly from a van too.
Old 09-30-2012, 09:38 PM
Staging Lane

Ok. I'll look on the nova thread. Thanks for the replys guys.
Old 09-30-2012, 10:15 PM
TECH Fanatic

In addition to the information here there are a couple books available at Amazon.com on swapping LS motors into just about everything. Those make a good reference to partner with what you find here. Is your block aluminum or cast iron? What manifold does it have? Where did you get it? Did the seller have info on the motor? Do you have any pictures of the motor to share? All those things can help discover what it came form.

This book is highly recommended: