Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I have a 5.3, NOW WHAT?

Old 10-02-2012, 06:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I have a 5.3, NOW WHAT?

HEllo all. Great site, I am new to this and the LS1 game.

I go a great price on a 5.3 (2004, 05 06 07) Silverado engine. IT has last than 55,000 miles for a few hundred dollars. It even has the maintenance records. Problem is, it is stripped. Nothing but a long block with truck intake.

It is going into a 1968 Camaro. I thought I knew what I was doing from reading several threads and lots of research. But now I am leary. Here are the questions:

I was looking at buying a Silverado computer for the years listed for the truck, but the connector colors from what I see on Ebay (green and ?), differ from those on after market painless kits for instance (red and blue).

Since I dont have an ecm or wiring harness can I buy a computer with the red and blue and have it work (after reprogramming)?

There is no throttle body on my engine. Which do I buy? Fly by wire or cable?

I think i got the reluctor count thing figured out, those were my main two questions.

Any suggestions on what pulleys/crank/harmonic balancer to go with, since I dont have one on the engine now? I was think the F-body harmonic balancer and accompany items, using Kwik brackets.

Any and all advice, suggestion would be really greatly appreciated, as well as answers to my two questions that are stumping me.

Thanks
Rob
Old 10-02-2012, 08:24 PM
On The Tree

Gm accessory kits. Ls1/6 kits, ls2 kits, with it or without ac.
Old 10-02-2012, 09:21 PM
TECH Resident

I believe that the red/blue and green/??? harnesses correspond to gen 3 and gen 4 engines. You probably need to pin down an exact year so you get the right one.

2004 and up should all be the electronic throttle style. I think you can convert to cable with the older PCM, but I'm not positive.