Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Single Owner 1973 Datsun 240Z Build Thread

Old 12-03-2012, 02:32 AM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Single Owner 1973 Datsun 240Z Build Thread

You can follow more periodic updates of the build by liking (subscribing) to my facebook page, or following my instagram.

Facebook
Instagram
Over 1,000 hi res images, and timelapse videos of the build here

I will however occasionally update this thread with lots of full size images as time permits and partake in discussion.
-------------

I thought I would start a build thread for the latest car I'm working on. It's a single owner 1973 Datsun 240z. I am restoring/ bringing it up to todays standards for my second cousin who resides in Redondo Beach California.

I've been working on the car for roughly 2 years. The car is getting a lot of goodies such as A/C, security system, power everything, etc. The engine is a 5.3L from a 2001 GMC truck. 4l60E transmission.

The goal for the car is to have a very clean build. Somewhat "production" like. A lot of time has been put into making the car extremely serviceable, and enjoyable to drive on a daily basis.

Here are a few time lapse videos of the build. I just recently started recording these.

And here are some pictures.

My time lapse rig.

Fresh of the trailer from California.

Tame 355.

Lots of body work!

Lots of epoxy primer and urethane seam sealer throughout the whole car.

Lizzard skin sound deadener.

Spray on epoxy bedliner.

More bedliner on the undercarriage.

Engine bay sprayed.

Prepping for the paint booth.

Off to the booth she goes!

At the booth with the engine bay and door jambs edged in.

Basecoat. (Viper red)

Clearcoat!

SEM hotrod black.

Fresh plates! (Owner has had this same plate number since he bought the car new!)

Custom dual sump pan.

Custom Sanden 508 bracket.

Hinson Z06 polyurthane mounts.