Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Beginners build on a 72 Nova

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2012, 06:34 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginners build on a 72 Nova

Hey everyone. I have this posted on the nova forums as well, but i figured that i would share here as well. ok. I recently picked up a 72 2door for 500 bucks. I knew that i wanted to do a project build for a long time and ive always loved the nova's, so i started looking around for a car after getting the wifes blessing. I found this one for 700 and managed to talk him down to 500. The car is in pretty bad shape, but it was pretty strait and had a clean title, so i figured id give it a shot. Now this project will take some time, becuase of the budget.Ok, so on to the the pics. OH yea, this is my first time at anything like this so if im not doing somthing right on the build, go easy on me, and im always willing to take any sugestions yall may have.

Here is the car on the trailor after bringing it home.

like i said, it looks pretty rough. It didnt have a motor or trans. After getting it home and decoding the VIN, It says that it was made in california and came out with the 307 factory.
It looks as though somone before me tried to make it into a drag car or somthing because the motor mounts were welded in and there was a huge hole in the trans tunnel. They had also tried to cover the holes in the fire wall with aluminum siding.
Here i have taken the front clip off to check out the subframe and what not.

you can see some of the siding left on the firewall. Ive already removed some of it.
I didnt get a pic of it, but the subframe had a huge rust hole on the drivers side by the lower A arm. Also the front and rear window areas are rusted out so bad that i can stick my whole had in between the window and the roof.
After looking everything over, and seeing what needed to be replaced, i decided id need a donar car. So i found this 72 4 door for 600 running and driving.