Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lq4 t56 rx7 swap -wiring

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2012, 01:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lq4 t56 rx7 swap -wiring

Im new to LS1TECH and this is my first thread;

I am currently in the middle of my rx7 v8 project. This is my first swap and build all of my own. I have experience with gen-1 sbc and toyota's but have never dealt with much wiring.

The car is a 86' rx7. I already have suspension, brakes, lsd, cage, racing seats, ect up to par.

For a motor i choose a lq4 from a silverado, and am still searching for a t56 i can pick up without spending the ridiculous amount many ppl want.

..Anyways what i need help/ advice on is the wiring.. Should i try tracing and splicing wires from the mazda to the lq4? run the truck pcm/ecu?
Or should i go with something like megasquirt? I think companies like msd and painless performance offer wiring for swaps into classic chevy trucks and muscle cars, i am not sure if that would work.

Ive been scratching my head for a while now, any direction and advice would be very helpful ..im a little intimidated at this point.

Thanks!
Old 12-31-2012, 02:40 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The cheapest way is to get the factory harness for your engine and set it up to be stand-alone by yourself however if you are intimidated by wiring then I suggest just buying a stand alone harness.

If you are building a race car then I would scrap the stock wiring and put in a simple race car type harness. If you are planning on making it a street car then just leave your stock wiring in place. The engine harness only needs connection to your electric fan, fuel pump, ignition switch for the starter, and of course battery and ground.
Old 12-31-2012, 03:34 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts