Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

BBC into LS truck

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2013, 11:49 AM
I need a gauge for that

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default BBC into LS truck

I realize this section is for ls engines to fit in non-ls vehicle, but there is not a section for a non-ls engines to go into an ls vehicles, so...

Has anyone swapped a BBC into an original ls vehicle? Even better would be a truck. I dont mean the 8.1 either since that has both sets of mounting holes I believe, I mean the older bbcs, pre-ls.

Everyone seems to offer an adapter to put an ls in an originally equipped bbc or sbc vehicle but not the other way around. The only thing im worried about at this point is fitting it in there. The exhaust will be all custom and no ac, so im not worried about that.

Ill admit im a noob on bbc and have a lot of reseach to do, but thats part of the fun.

Before anyone says, "why not just use a 408 if you want big cubes?". Because I have a 402 currently with an 82mm turbo (somewhere north of 1k rwhp), and when it goes I want to build something really cool. A twin turbo 600ci bbc sounds fun. Not just for the power, but the challenge and cool factor as well.

Thanks

Last edited by Atomic; 01-16-2013 at 09:36 PM.
Old 01-16-2013, 11:56 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Now this sounds interesting.
Carb or EFI BBC. What trans?
One issue to consider is that all the gauges and a lot of function go through the ECU.
Old 01-16-2013, 01:54 PM
I need a gauge for that

Would like to stick with EFI, 80e (maybe, if it will hold...), and actually the stock 411 type pcm. Of course this is after confirming someone makes brackets to actually get it in there.
Old 01-16-2013, 08:43 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I think it would easy to mount up with the power your talking front & mid plates any way right?
Old 01-16-2013, 08:58 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts