Sponsored by:

LQ Fox Build

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2014, 09:07 PM
dig
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ Fox Build

So i'm new to the LS platform and will be performing an LM7 swap in my fox body notch. I will be taking many pictures throughout this build/swap and updating as I go along so everyone can see the progress and ask questions about any problems I ran into.

My first step is locating a good solid core/short block, I have been scouring Ebay and all the forums looking for a local deal but have been un successful, might have to just buy on Ebay cheap and eat the shipping.

LS1Tech is full of gobbs and gobbs of info on swapping these things so this will be my primary source of information on swapping, I look forward to updating everyone on my progress as I source the new heart for my fox.

1. LM7 Long Block/ Complete w/o harness/computer. $400.00
2. Machine Shop. $1500
3. ARP Rod Bolts. $89.00
4. GM F Body Pan. $169.00
5. SLP Double Roller Chain LS2/ SLP Ported Oil Pump. $335.00
6. LS1 Intake Valves 2.02". $55.00
7. Piston Rings. $50.00
8. Cam Shaft Bearings. $23.00
9. Comp Cam/BTR Dual Springs/Titanium locks&Retainers. $560.00
10. ARP Head Bolts. $128.00
11. Comp Truunion Kit $99.00
12. Trickflow Push Rods $99.00
13. LS7 Lifters. $100.00
14. Drain Plug. $10.00
15. Felpro Oil Pan gasket. $44.00
16.F Body Pick up Tube. $39.00
17. Team Z K Member/ Coil Overs
18. Flaming River Manual Rack
19. Flaming River Steering Shaft
20. LS6 Intake Manifold
21. Potz Speed Ported Throttle Body
22. On3 76mm Turbo .96A/R

Last edited by dig; 05-09-2014 at 12:43 AM.
Old 01-04-2014, 01:07 AM
dig
Staging Lane

So after much deliberation I wound up purchasing an LM7 5.3 Iron Block out of a 2001 Chevy Tahoe 1500, this block was much cheaper at 400 Shipped, complete long block minus the harness and ECM.