Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Time to get serious... LS/T56 into my 48 Plymouth

Old 01-12-2014, 04:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Time to get serious... LS/T56 into my 48 Plymouth

Hello guys, I'm a noob so I've just put on my Nomex suit to ask you guys some questions about a LS swap into a 1948 Plymouth Special Deluxe.
I've run this car the last couple of years with the original flathead 6 and three on the tree, but she is getting a little long in the tooth and she looks too good to be this slow. Here is my plan, please pick it apart if you see anything that doesn't jive.
I'm on the hunt for an F-body with the LS/T56 combo because I want to keep this car a manual shift. I plan on trying to find a complete wrecked vehicle so I can use as much as possible including brake booster and MC, AC, wiring, etc. I have more skills than I have money so I'm going to be building the engine/trans mounts using what I can off the original car and either using the original manifolds or fabbing up some headers if the manifolds won't fit. The rear end has already been replaced with an 8.8 from an Exploder with disk brakes and I'm converting to disks on the front while I've got it off the road. The 48 is still a 6 volt positive ground system so I'll be wiring the whole car with the F-body wiring harness headlights to taillights. If it will fit I'll even use the F-body underdash AC/Heater box and all associated parts. Basically I'll have a 48 Plymouthbird or Camaroth.