Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Holley retrofit oil pan

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2014, 11:40 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Holley retrofit oil pan

Doing a ls swap on a 67' camaro for a friend of mine. Looking at ordering motor mount plates and was wondering who had used the holley retrofit oil pan. Don't want to run into crazy clearance problems as the car will be driven often. Any other info will be helpful. Thanks!
Old 02-26-2014, 12:28 AM
TECH Regular

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Hello fellow Las Vegan, I am a bit new to all of this, but you will probably find the answers on the pan as varied on which beer they like the best. I have heard and read that people like them or they don't. I have looked at a few and I am going to go with the BRP Hotrods kit, which includes motor and transmission mounts, the LH8 oil pan, and their mid-length headers. Apparently the Auto Kraft pan is a popular one as well, and by the looks of it, about the same prices as the Holley pan.
Old 02-26-2014, 12:57 AM
Launching!

I've read that the lh8 sits to low becoming the lowest point and that wouldn't work for his application.
Old 02-26-2014, 01:09 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

If using the complete BRP kit.. it mounts the engine a bit higher for better clearance using the LH8 pan.

I have the RetroLSx (JZMotorsport before sold to Holley) oil pan that is now the Holley 301-1 pan on my Nova and it has no issue.
I now have the Holley 302-2 (new design) on my Chevelle and everything looks good, It should be back on the road this weekend as I am just finishing the oil pan swap (was CTS-V and then a Notched F-Body).

With your 67 Camaro.. you shouldn't have any issue with the Holley.
Old 02-26-2014, 06:07 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 203 Likes on 123 Posts

Originally Posted by SPOOLIN Z28