Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ9 vs LS2 build

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2014, 09:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ9 vs LS2 build

So I am a complete newbie at ALL LS stuff, I have a 1963 Chevy II that is getting ready for a LS/T-56. My goal for the build is a reliable 400-450wph EFI set up. I want to actually DRIVE the car instead of building a track queen.

(Cost isn't that much of a variable, Im buying a brand new T56 but would rather go with a cheaper option for the motor since its going to get stripped to bare block and getting new rings/bearing/ect)

My questions

Which is gonna be more of a bitch to work on?

LQ9- What heads would be best suited?
LS2- are stock heads OK?

Any special tricks with running a T56 behind the LQ since it was an auto?

LS2 I know has a drive by wire set up, is that easily eliminated?

Could I just throw a cam/intake and shortys on the LQ9 get the computer redone and make the power I want?

Cam?
Old 03-28-2014, 11:46 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

There is actually a pretty big difference between 400 and 450 whp. the first number you can hit or at least get close to with just a cam and intake. the second number will take a good bit more work.

LS2 should have 243 heads. Those are as good as it gets in stock cathedral port heads.

Drive by wire is actually not a bad thing. You just need to install a pedal. On the up side you get cruise control and a slightly cleaner engine bay.

As for LQ9-LS2, IMO depends on which is the better deal. Do some reading and see which motor comes with accessories you can use. Sourcing all new FEAD can get pricy. You have a nice light car, the aluminum block will be advantageous. Only you can decide if the cost difference is worth it.
Old 03-28-2014, 01:56 PM
On The Tree