Sponsored by:

Chevy Square Body Truck New Build - Need suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2014, 02:59 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chevy Square Body Truck New Build - Need suggestions

Hey Guys,

I am completely new to the LS world. I am preparing for an engine swap on my 84 Chevy K10 short bed pickup (along with new wiring, 1 ton axles, interior upgrades, etc etc). The truck currently has a mildly built 355 in it mated to an SM465 tranny. All of the research I keep doing points me back to this forum as it seems you guys know more than anyone else about these engines. I am completely open for suggestion. My main goals here are: reliability and fun to drive power. Not worried at all about fuel economy or cold weather drivability as this is only a summer toy for me.

I have a couple good leads on some used LQ9 engines with roughly 135k miles on them. For cost and complexity reasons, I have decided to go with a carb on the new LS that I choose. Because the truck is heavy and I plan on using it on the road and also at the sand dunes, I will need a set up with a lot of low end torque. Behind the LS, I will be going with a 700R4 tranny I already have built, 4.56 gears with lockers in both axles and a 205 gear to gear transfer case.

The truck is heavy; these are the last trucks from the era of when real steel was used for body panels. The 1 ton axles, transfer case and suspension upgrades will add considerable weight to this build. But...I want the strongest drivetrain I can get for severe duty use especially during a weekend at the sand dunes.

I was really inspired by this article in my search of which engine to build.
http://www.carcraft.com/techarticles...s/viewall.html

This config seems right on par with what I want to spend but my concern is that I lose some torque down low, where a heavy truck needs it the most.